Cigar Beetles in a Machine Made Cigar

Thepipehunter

One time online, I believe here on the forum though I could be wrong, someone posted a machine made cigar that had a cigar beetle. I had never seen that before in a machine made cigar and was a little hesitant if I believed that’s what it really was. Well, if I didn’t believe then I do now. I opened a pack Dutch Masters Presidents, my daily cigar, and look what I see. This is definitely the work of a cigar beetle. I guess even machine made cigars can be effected by them. I’ll be putting this up for keeps because it is likely I’ll never see another one effected by it again! 5758E26C-FC9B-4E15-9705-679A0F27B13D.jpeg 425767E3-B652-4C2E-8340-56F87C2C2B3E.jpeg ACD56F2F-21AF-4787-B1E1-6E030EEC24A7.jpeg

Thepipehunter

I put mine in the freezer for a couple of days prior to putting them in my humidor. I’ve been smoking cigars for about 15 years and I’ve only seen it a couple of times.
The machine made cigars don’t require humidity, and can stay in the box they come in. I keep a close watch on the humidity and temperature of my humidors that hold my regular cigars. I’ve only had one cigar in the past get a beetle and I threw it out. Other then that no issues.

The machine made cigars don’t require humidity, and can stay in the box they come in. I keep a close watch on the humidity and temperature of my humidors that hold my regular cigars. I’ve only had one cigar in the past get a beetle and I threw it out. Other then that no issues.
This is the oddest statement. Why wouldn't they require humidity? These gars are made of tobacco leaf, either way. Even homogenized is just pulped leaf scrap extruded between rollers.