What's new

Harken thy ear oh Meer Master

MasterJoda

So I’m a complete noob when it comes to meers. No experience at all. With all the meer pipes I’ve seen lately it’s really gotten me interested.

So here’s my question; what do you recommend when it comes to an affordable ($75-$125) meerschaum?
Brands? (Good and bad)
New? Estate?

Though I appreciate the sculpted pieces, I’m more interested in simple shaped bows. I like the lattice and other surface details, but overall bowl shape more simple.

I’ll patiently sit here at the feet of the meer masters and take in your wisdom.

Spillproof

Mostly Harmless
Staff member
Sales
What do you recommend when it comes to an affordable ($75-$125) meerschaum?
Brands? (Good and bad)
New? Estate?.
Nothing that I can recomend in that price range.
A quality meerschaum from a reputable name (Altinok, Baki, IMP, etc.) is probably going to cost you at least $200.

You could get a Falcon stem with a meerschaum bowl for <$100, if that interests you at all.

MasterJoda

Nothing that I can recomend in that price range.
A quality meerschaum from a reputable name (Altinok, Baki, IMP, etc.) is probably going to cost you at least $200.

You could get a Falcon stem with a meerschaum bowl for <$100, if that interests you at all.
That’s part of what I needed to know. I see these 100ish ones on SP and kinda wondered about their quality.

That being said, what separates a quality meerschaum apart? Is it the meerschaum itself or the construction?

Spillproof

Mostly Harmless
Staff member
Sales
That’s part of what I needed to know. I see these 100ish ones on SP and kinda wondered about their quality.