Need Help and Support- Trying to quit cigarettes

Sidd

Hello everyone,

I shall come straight to the point without beating the bush. I have been smoking cigs perhaps since 1995-96. Same old story, went to the college, everyone was doing it so I did it for the heck of it- felt like a man crap. Got hooked :( Picked up pipe smoking in 2004 and realised it was something I was after. I think a lot, read a lot and write a lot either professionally or as a hobbyist. I am a writer and I know it. Anyway, what I noticed was that cigs tired me during reading / writing and I start disliking that, however, pipe umm oh well I can go on and on but won't- a nice pipe smoke not only soothes me but helps in my thinking process during my reading / writing.

I thought that as I move along with my pipe I shall eventually quit cigs but I did not and have not yet. However, this feeling of quitting on the cigs is with me deep down for the past 5-6 years now and right now I am more than serious to do so. I read Alen Car's book which is amazing and quit for a day but then started again. I have tried to reduce from a pack a day to half a pack a day which works but then I come back to the full pack without noticing and the tis really bad.

Deep down I know I hate cigs and want ot quit but I just cannot find a possible way. How to do that. I have tried e-cigs and nicotine gums etc but nothing seems to work. I know as Car says in his EASYWAY to quit that you just need ot make a decision and stand by it. I am psychologically up for it but can't put it to practice. I have started disliking the taste of cigs (after enjoying the taste of a pipe tobacco you get to know how filthy a cig is) but I do not know why am I a slave to those little death sticks :( can't find a way out... I am contemplating going cold turkey one of these days again so lets see...