• Please read the rules before posting or replying here -- no banter, no off-topic replies please. Link to the rules: Old Codger Rules.

Pipe Replace Skoal

bearwolf56

Not sure if this is the right forum but here goes. I've been smoking a pipe for many years now but it's been mainly a bowl with my morning coffee and not an all day thing. I'd like to quit dipping Skoal and only smoke a pipe but not sure how to transition to smoking a pipe all day and ditching the Skoal. So I'd like the advice from those of you who smoke a pipe all day or those that have quit dip and taken up the pipe. Any and all suggestions would be appreciated. I tried this years ago and posted a similar question years ago on the old site so can't look up what advice I got then. Thank you for any and all advice you can give.

Mikewood

This seems pretty simple. Just do it? Enjoy your pipe and coffee. Don’t take a dip before you “need” to. When you start to need a dip it’s time to crank up the pipe. Stop smoking when you are satisfied and start again when you need to. I have been told It’s hard on a pipe to be smoked all day so You might buy a half dozen cobs, load them in the morning and rotate thru them throughout the day. You may need to bump your tobacco selections to blends that offer more or less vitamin N to keep you satisfied and not woozy. Hydration is always a factor as are regular meals.

Russ H.

Mr. Fruity Pebbles