Some thoughts on acquiring pipes

DannoH

Patron
I've been nurturing a pipe obsession for about 25 years, and have been reflecting on the journey. I wanted to share a few thoughts here, in an attempt to give back a bit to the good folks who make PSD what it is - my virtual home.

I started like many of us do, with a cheap briar (which I still own, of course) and a forgettable bulk mixture. I remember feeling on the edge of something profound with that first purchase, but had no idea what sort of ride that initial step would entail. My interest in all things pipe and tobacco blossomed quickly and I bought indiscriminately, horse trading and reading everything I could find. I pored over pipe history and lore, traveled to pipe-making meccas, and generally enjoyed the hell out of all of it.

In time, my tastes narrowed and my interests focused, and I went deep on the Danish designs and philosophy, seeking out pipes from the acknowledged masters. I was interested in Brit wood, too, so that was another rabbit hole to fall down. It was all very engrossing, and expensive.

About 6-8 years ago, I realized that I most often reached for 'boring' pipes, largely billiards, and that I was growing in admiration for the quiet lines of well-cut traditional shapes. I purged a good deal of my Danish and European accumulation, and focused on adding quality pieces that underwent increasingly stringent vetting before purchase. I also realized that I really enjoyed buying pipes from artisans, especially ones that I had met and gotten to know. This has continued to the present.