Teach Me How to Enjoy Aromatics

Status
Not open for further replies.

Peacock

There is no spoon.
Patron
Ahh... the sweet scent of pipe tobacco. That’s what initially drew me in and still brings about a feeling of nostalgia whenever I smell it.

But I just cannot for the life of me figure out how to enjoy aromatic pipe tobacco. It burns too wet, causing me to go through tons of pipe cleaners. It packs too tight - causing relighted and overtamping (if it’s not already overpacked in the first place). Then if I finally get it lit and smoke-producing, the flavor is lackluster compared to pretty much anything else I smoke. Carter Hall has been an exception though I’m not sure it’s squarely an aromatic.

I’m still new to pipe smoking so please teach me your ways, oh Old Codgerdom. How can I pack, light and smoke through a bowl of Lane 1Q? KBV Festivus Mixture? Autumn Evening? SWRA? Corn Cob Pipe and a Button Nose?

headrott

I don’t claim to have an answer, but will say Corn Cob Pipe and a Button Nose Is less an aromatic than some others listed. I find it fairly easy to pack and keep lit compared to say 1Q. That could be because of the cut (cube) comparatively, in my opinion.

Good question that I have no answer to. Will be watching this thread though.

Fr_Tom

PSD Chaplain
Old Ted Award Winner
I have tried 1Q, and I have some Autumn Evening waiting for the fullness of time. I like SWRA. The others are unknown to me. SWRA smokes about like anything else to me in terms of packing, etc.

I have decided that black cavendish and I do not get along. It typically tastes thin and a little musty to me. I tend to overpuff probably trying to get some flavor out. It may just be that you are looking for more tobacco flavor in your tobacco, and there is nothing wrong with that.

3 Olives

Patron
Jared,