Who wants to collaborate on a 3d printed pipe?

okie

I'm an industrial designer specializing in additive manufacturing, and I've been a pipe enthusiast for 20 years. I normally design things for defense applications, but I saw a 3d printed pipe the other day and thought it would be fun to do. I'm looking for someone with pipe making experience who would like to collaborate on this project with me. Basically I need someone who make make the bowl and stem, as I have no woodworking skills or equipment. I do however have access to multimillion dollar 3d printing facilities!

What I disliked about the 3d printed pipes I'm seeing is there's no demonstrable reason for them to be 3d printed. The printed portion of the pipe is completely superfluous and is there merely to check that box for marketing purposes. From a philosophical perspective, I hate that, because 3d printing is in fact extremely useful, and there's generally a way to practically apply it to most things.

I didn't have to think too hard to figure out how I would personally apply it to a smoking pipe. I'm a huge gourd fan, but the delicate and expensive nature of them doesn't lend itself to being on the go. Well, there's a technology I use very often that can make a 3d printed gourd that's just as light as the real thing, but many times stronger, and cheaper. So here it is. A "gourd" calabash that's rugged enough to take on the go. You could drop this on concrete and it would be unlikely to break, and even if it did it would be a 20 dollar mistake, vs. a 300 dollar one. Being that it's a travel pipe, I gave it a lid so you can pocket it without ash going all over the place.

pipe v4.png
pipe v4 2.png
pipe v4 3.png
pipe v4 4.png

Yosemite

Klingon Ambassador to Terra
Patron